Welcome back from Spring Break

Hello everyone,

I am so excited to return every day to Lewis this spring after taking some time to be away caring for my parents at the end of their life journey.  They have passed away now and I have returned to all the positive energy and excitement our Lewis school life provides.  I can’t tell you how much pleasure it brings me to work with your kids my students.

As I return we are starting a new game of Fire and Ice.  It is a tag game that uses pool noodles as icicles.  If tagged by an icicle the child is FROZEN and does fist pumps in the air until they are tossed a “fire” ball to melt them.  This game creates a fun way to increase heart rates and practice catching and throwing skills.  So far the kids have enjoyed the new game while practicing first hand what it takes to throw a catchable toss.

Students are also working on new push-ups are really more of a “letting-down” of the body to the floor from a plank position.  It is a controlled movement that builds strength and is not overwhelming as “push-ups” can be.  Kids might want to show you this  at home and may enjoy teaching their families members this exercise.

Another skills we are developing is teamwork of jumping a rope together after watching the following clip. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bd5zQ46L9QU Japanese jump rope team.

If you would like to help in PE I would welcome the extra hands to run jump rope stations or help with a variety of odds jobs that go along with having equipment storage issues of a varied program.

Please following me on Twitter at GymJumpRun or email me at layman@pps.net to connect with me.

Thanks, Millie Layman

About pe4lewis

Teaching k-5 physical education at Meriwether Lewis Elementary School. Where children receive physical education twice a week! Follow me on Twitter at GymJumpRun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.