Conference Week

Welcome to the end of the first quarter of the 2015-16 school year!
DSC_0103

I thought it would be a good chance to check in with all of the Lewis families.  We are coming to the end of our second day of conferences and this gives me a little extra time to reflect on the past quarter.  I haven’t had a chance to talk to you about your individual child’s progress yet, I do have some thoughts on what helps a child be more successful in all classes including PE.  I would say that it comes down to having a positive attitude. Not giving up when the task or activity gets difficult.  When learning to jumprope these past few weeks students have said, “It’s just not something they are willing to do because it is too difficult!”  It is times like this that I think of that quote that goes something like…”If you think you can or you can’t you are probably right.”  Sure not everything will come the first time we try something.  But we know for sure if we stop trying it will never happen.

Our Principal’s secretary, Tracy Buckley, found this lists of alternative phrases to use when we hear our inner critic.

Instead of saying…

Instead of saying…“I am not good at this”

say:     What am I missing?

Instead of saying…“I give up.”

say:     I will use some of the strategies we have learned.

Instead of saying…“This is too hard.”

say:     This may take some time and effort.

Instead of saying…“I can’t make this any better.”

say:     I can always improve so I will keep trying.

Instead of saying…“I just can not do math.”

say:     I am going to train my brain.

Instead of saying…“I made a mistake.”

say:     Mistakes help me learn.

Instead of saying…“She is so smart.  I will never be that smart.”

say:     I am going to figure out how she does that so I can try.

Instead of saying…“It is good enough.”

say:     Is it really my best work?

Instead of saying…“Plan A did not work.”

say:      Good thing the alphabet has 25 more letters.

About pe4lewis

Teaching k-8 physical education at Creative Science School. Where children children learn with a Constructive Theory of Education. Previously I was at Lewis and my site is being updated. Follow me on Twitter at GymJumpRun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.